

IN BIOMEDICINE 2023





IN BIOMEDICINE 2023

Jury

President Ralph Adolphs

Members

Sarah Bray • Nektarios Tavernarakis - European Research Council

Maria do Carmo Fonseca • Fátima Carneiro - Council of Rectors of Portuguese Universities

Vincenzo Costigliola • Olga Golubnitschaja - European Medical Association

Hugo Critchley • Menno Witter - Scientific Board of the BIAL Foundation

Daniel Pipeleers • Peter St. George-Hyslop - Previous winners of the BIAL Award

Kamran Abbasi (BMJ) • Eric Rubin (NEJM) - Scientific Journals

Who can nominate

- Voting members of the Jury;
- Members of the Scientific Board of the BIAL Foundation;
- Previous BIAL Award winners:
- Scientific Societies in the biomedical field;
- Boards or Deans of Medical Faculties:
- Heads of leading research institutes in the biomedical field;
- Boards or Heads of prestigious Academies;
- In addition, highly qualified researchers may nominate candidate works, but self-nominations are not accepted.

"Nominations may be submitted by an organized group of scientists, such as a university, society, academy, or research institute. The nominating group should not include individuals who contributed to the nominated work. Nominations are welcomed for works authored by scientists at any stage of their career, and from any country around the world."



Ralph Adolphs

President of the Jury



The BIAL Foundation was established in 1994 by BIAL and the Council of Rectors of Portuguese Universities. BIAL Foundation's mission is to foster the scientific study of the human being from both the physical and spiritual perspectives. It is managed by representatives from both institutions.

Among its activities, the Foundation manages awards promoting the research in health sciences and supports scientific research projects in the area of neurosciences.

For more information visit www.fundacaobial.com.